CALL FOR NOMINATIONS | Ninth Annual Indigenous Arts Awards 2016

Friday, 9 October 2015

Key Dates:

Nominations close: Thursday 12 November 2015

Nominations are now open for the Ninth Annual Indigenous Arts Awards 2016.

Now in its ninth year, the annual National Indigenous Arts Awards celebrate the achievements and artistic creativity of exceptional Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists and are presented at an awards ceremony on the 27th May each year.

The Awards consist of the Red Ochre and the Dreaming Awards which are decided by a national panel of Indigenous arts peers consisting of leading Indigenous artists, curators and arts managers from each state and territory, including the Torres Strait Islands.

The Red Ochre Award

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Panel established the Red Ochre Award in 1993 to pay tribute to a senior Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person for their lifetime achievement in the arts and their outstanding contributions to the recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander arts, both nationally and internationally.

The Dreaming Award

The Dreaming Award recognises an inspirational young artist aged 18-26 years and supports the opportunity for them to create a major body of work through mentoring and partnerships, either nationally or internationally.

The successful candidate is mentored in their chosen discipline (music, dance, theatre, literature, visual arts, new media, and cultural vibrancy) by another established professional artist or by an arts institution nominated by the artist. In addition, the Australia Council will promote the achievements of the recipient to inspire other young artists.

For more information about this award and the Expressions of Interest requirements, please click here. Or, call Suzie Cubillo on (02) 9215 9144 for a downloadable application form.



< Go Back


Subscribe to our e-News

* indicates required